Overlap options when uploading a transaction file

If you consistently upload transactions from one account, you are free to overlap the transaction uploads and not get duplicate transactions. There are 3 options to select for overlapping transactions when uploading a file.

Leave overlapping transactions out (default)


This option will not import transactions from the file for the date range of transactions that already exist within the account in PocketSmith.

For example, if you have transactions up to 31 August 2015 already imported into the account and then upload a file with transactions between 20 August 2015 and 10 September 2015. With this option, only the transactions in the file from 1 September to 10 September 2015 will be added to the account.

If the previous import only included some transactions from the day of import, the remaining transactions will not be imported from the current file with this option. It just compares the date range, not individual transactions.

Replace existing transactions with overlap


This was the previously default behaviour when uploading a file. With this option the transactions already in PocketSmith within the same date range as the uploaded file will be deleted.

For example, if you have transactions up to 31 August 2015 already imported into the account and then upload a file with transactions between 20 August 2015 and 10 September 2015. With this option, the transactions in the account between 20 August and 31 August 2015 will be deleted and all the transactions from the uploaded file will be added.

Keep both existing and overlapping transactions


This option has the possibility to cause duplicate transactions! This will import all the transactions from the uploaded file and keep all the transactions already in PocketSmith.

For example, if you have transactions up to 31 August 2015 already imported into the account and then upload a file with transactions between 20 August 2015 and 10 September 2015. With this option, all the transactions from the file will be added and no transactions already in the account will be deleted.



Feedback and Knowledge Base