Deleted transactions keep returning

You may have some transactions in your live feeds that are irrelevant to your personal finances, such as business-related transactions, and so you want to delete them.

After deleting transactions, you may find that they're re-created the next time the Live Feed is refreshed. This is because PocketSmith always keeps in sync with the live bank feed data source, and any missing transactions will be created if they're missing from your account.


This ensures that internal balance consistency is always intact - otherwise historical closing balances for each transaction (shown on the right of the Bank Statements page) fall out of sync.

Plans for the future


Transactions will be able to be permanently deleted in the near future. This will mean that transactions that are deleted will remain deleted, even if they still exist on the live bank feed service. There are however a couple of workarounds that you can use in the meantime, described below.

Workaround 1: Categorise to an ignored category


The advantage of this workaround is that your historical balances for the account will continue to be correct, as the transactions still exist - they're just put into a category that you can hide from the application.
  1. Categorise the transactions you want to hide to a dummy category, for example "Business Expenses"
  2. Hide the categories from the Budgets, Cashflows and Dashboard pages, by following the directions in this article


Workaround 2: Set the "Import from" date after deletion


This allows transactions that are deleted to remain deleted, by setting preventing PocketSmith from storing any transactions that have a date of before the import from date set for the account.

We don't highly recommend this option as it means that your historical balances will be inaccurate, however it is a sure-fire way of ensuring deleted transactions will not re-appear.
  1. Delete the transactions you'd like removed from the Transactions page.

  2. Then head to the Account Summary page, and locate the account you deleted the transactions from

  3. Using the Manage Account menu on the account, click Account Preferences

  4. Use the calendar picker to set the Live feed start / import from date to any day after the date of the last transaction deleted

  5. Click the Save these settings button.
Future live feed syncs will no longer pick up any transactions for before the set date, which means the deleted transactions will not re-appear.


Transactions

  1. Transactions page overview
  2. Importing transactions into PocketSmith
  3. Dealing with cash transactions
  4. Manually add transactions to an account
  5. Deleted transactions keep returning
  6. Export specific transactions
  7. Searching your transactions
  8. Editing Saved Searches, Filters and Category Rules
  9. Delete a Saved Search, Filter or Category Rule
  10. Find the original merchant name for a transaction
  11. Dealing with transfers between accounts
  12. Change the order of Saved Searches, Filters and Category Rules
  13. Transactions with "&amp" in the merchant name
  14. Transactions page pie chart
  15. Remove transfers from the transactions pie chart
  16. Exporting all of your transactions
  17. Viewing all the transactions in a category
  18. Categories changing back or disappearing on some transactions
  19. Transactions uncategorized when imported from Live Feed
  20. Pending transactions from the Live Feed
  21. Allowing re-import of deleted live bank feed transactions
  22. Brackets around negative values
  23. Move transactions to another account
  24. Reviewing imported transactions
  25. Marking transactions as transfers
  26. Splitting a transaction
  27. Deleting a transaction
  28. Using Filters to automatically categorize and edit transactions
  29. Edit a transaction
  30. Edit many transactions in bulk
  31. Using Category Rules to automatically categorize transactions
  32. Send business expenses to Xero
  33. How to use Labels for transactions
  34. Error message about Account Code, when sending transaction to Xero
  35. Add Labels to transactions
  36. Rename or delete a Label
  37. Changing the merchant name of a transaction
  38. Categorize your transactions
  39. Remember a category for a merchant
  40. Stop new categories from automatically appearing
  41. Restoring the original merchant name to a transaction
  42. Find and edit the Filter that was applied to a transaction
  43. Categorize items page

Feedback and Knowledge Base